Get out the blooming boat

The whole concept of trusting in  God and stepping out in faith has been one which has been on my mind for a while lately and strangely enough (not really) has been the message that has been spoken on at Explore lately.

I suppose that’s part of what this blog is about, stepping out, trying new things and trying to find new ways to make share my God with others and hopefully the things He is speaking to me about might touch someone elses heart. That being said; it is a really really difficult thing to do. Sometimes I really just want to kick my own butt out the boat!!

To put yourself out on the line and make yourself vulnerable to others comes with the risk (sometimes BIG risk) that it might be tossed back in your face or even worse that someone might think it’s really stupid or lame! Some people love or don’t mind making a fool of themselves; I’m not one of them!

Matthew 14:28-31

“Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”

29 “Come,” he said.  

Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

 31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

I keep thinking one day when I die will I really care what people thought or would I prefer that God remembered all the things I tried in His name and what He thinks of me.  It’s a process “baby steps, baby steps” and one day we’ll (I’ll) get there.

So I’ll keep trusting that is His hands I am safe and that God’s plans are ” for good and not for disaster, to give me a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

What is God challenging you about, what is your “water”?? Leave me a comment and let me know!

3 thoughts on “Get out the blooming boat

  1. Great post! I’ve been feeling recently that God’s calling me to be a “yes”-woman. Not just to say yes to everything, but to say Yes to Him – even when it’s uncomfortable, in the middle of my day, inconvenient, or inappropriate according to what you “should” do. I feel like the more I “step out” and just do without the other “what-if” thoughts, the more I’ll see God’s miracles all around me. And I want to live in THAT! The scary question for me is am I more scared of what people think than what God thinks? Nails me every time!

  2. I’ve been thinking too about how I will look back on my life when I’m older. Have I spent my time on things that really count? WIll I have stored up treasures in heaven or just accumulated a house full of stuff? Will I have taught my kids the best way to live? Will my marriage have brought glory to God? Big questions, no real answers. But i am sure, like you, it’s about taking little steps in the right direction and trusting God to direct your path. Great blog Kerry. Keep it up.

What do you think?

