Robbing God?

I read this verse today and it really made me think…

{and the Lord said} “Will a man rob God? yet you rob me”. “But you ask ‘how do we rob you’ “In tithes and offerings…”      Malachi 3:8

What??? Rob God… is that even possible? I mean I know I occasionally disappoint him, don’t listen to him, take advantage of His grace; but rob him???

The old testament was all about the law, relationship through law. The tithe was about returning a tenth of all they owned to God. Now living in the new testament, in a personal relationship with Christ sometimes I feel the numbers aren’t important. And they’re not, however  this love relationship gives us a new, different  standard of giving. I think this standard is all measured by sacrifice.  By love we voluntarily give – our time, our gifts, assets, money. And it’s not about how much but all about how much it cost us!

I mean if God created us and we and all we have technically belongs to Him anyway how do we justify not giving. And I mean not just a tenth but EVERYTHING! And it’s not ALL about money but that is part of it as is every single blessing I have been given. Am I giving enough?  Yes I give time but in my time am I giving my all (in energy and talents) or am I giving a half-hearted effort – I may as well not be doing it then. So maybe the motivation is part of it too?

So here I sit examining myself.  Again! It’s a constant process! Maybe there are more things in my life I need to give… maybe it’s just giving God more space in my life, maybe it’s giving him more in my speech. Maybe it’s this blog.

So I’ll sit here a while longer… trying to hear God (Lord you may need to shout it’s rather loud and busy in my house at the moment).

Does any of this resonate with you??

What do you think?

