Getting into the Advent spirit!

A couple of you will know that for the last month or so I have been working on a calendar for the kids! I’m a bit sick of the chocolate ones which just hype up the kids… and my kids don’t need hyping!

I also wanted to fill it with little things that represent the season more than chocolate! Add to that the fact that this is going to be the tightest Christmas financially ever due to surprise number 3 we are looking at ways to save!

So here is the finished product!!

And a closer view of some of the pockets!

I love it!

I love that my mom also added her 20 pence/cents in at the last-minute and helped sew all the pockets on for me! Now all is needed is to get the fillers! This year I am having little nativity scene character laminated (thanks sis) – one for each pocket! I’ll put a little blue tac on the back so they can create their own scene on the stable background.

I would love to be able to afford a little wooden nativity set but maybe next year! Another idea for a filler is little ornaments for the tree in every pocket.

I might concede a little tho and add a little treat to each pocket for the kids too… it is Christmas after all!

Anyone wanting advent calendar idea’s check out my Christmas Pinterest board it’s got some great ones!

3 thoughts on “Getting into the Advent spirit!

  1. Pingback: I heart felt hearts! « bothabunch

What do you think?

