My house my home.

I had a day at home alone! First time in nearly 3 years! Yes, I was sadly very excited, even though it was because I wasn’t feeling well.

Do what did I do… After sending the kids off to school and the childminder I went back to bed with my breakfast. Read my book and had a nap.

Cleaned the kitchen, did a load of laundry, watched a little tv, did a little online shopping and started feeling much better.

Guilt, it’s always there isn’t it…I feel like I could have done so much more… but I didn’t! But I think that’s OK. Right now it’s OK, for now.

Then a little more more cleaning was done and I decided to brave the chilly weather outside. Decided to go for a leisurely swim, I had to hand in swim lesson forms anyway. Had a warming cuppa and read my book. Organised 3 blog posts for the coming week. Cooked dinner and then it was time to get the kids.

I do have to admit to sitting to listen for little voices waking from a nap, and at one point even nearly getting up to check on them they were so quiet! My home just felt a little empty without them. Home after all is only home when it’s full of family and friends, otherwise it’s just a house. I’ve realised to today that no matter where we live it’ll alway be home, just because we’re all there together. Today I realised that as much as I want a bigger and better house, it’s just that, a house, a shell. Without my family in it, it’s not my home. I look around and see little bits of my family scattered around, a train, a fairy, a muslin, some socks and as much as they do bug the heck out of me, today it’s OK, cause my house, it’s my home which is the whole point isn’t it!

So did I enjoy my day? Sure I did! Will I do it again? Anytime! As long as my family come home soon!

6 thoughts on “My house my home.

  1. I always end up tidying or cleaning or ironing when my husband takes the kids out. I feel like I have to do something productive, something that is beneficial for the whole household rather than for myself when left alone in the house. Sounds like you almost managed to relax. Good for you!

    • Nearly… not sure why we mum’s feel we have to always be doing something for someone else tho… surely time to just be us is important too! the cleaning will always be there, and it’s a mess as soon as they home anyway! One day we’ll finally learn to relax… maybe when the kids start the cleaning!

What do you think?

